Foundation for European Economic Development

EAEPE Summer School, Ireland 1998

                   EAEPE Summer School, Ireland 1998, Part-Funded by FEED

Grants: Past Awards

Up to November 2016, FEED had distributed a total of £120,656 in grants to individuals and organizations.

Grants have been given to the European Association for Evolutionary Political Economy (EAEPE), the Association for Critical Economists, the Association for Heterodox Economists, the World Interdisciplinary Network for Institutional Research (WINIR), the Centre for Evolutionary Economics (Moscow), International Student Initiative for Pluralist Economics, and several others.

These grants have been used to help finance conferences and workshops, to assist individuals in conference attendance and generally to help promote evolutionary and institutional perspectives in economics.

FEED plans to maintain its charitable activities with revenues accruing from its investments.

Elinor Ostrom Prize Competition

From 2014 FEED has funded the Elinor Ostrom Prize of £1000, awarded each year for the best full-length article published in the Journal of Institutional Economics in the preceding calendar year.

The Mark Blaug Student Essay Prize Competition

From 2015 FEED has funded the Mark Blaug Student Essay Prize.

The 2007 Veblen Prize Competition

In 2007 FEED was the major funder of a prize competition to commemorate the 150th anniversary of the birth of the American institutional and evolutionary economist Thorstein Veblen.

This prize competition was for works unpublished or published no earlier than 2005. The prizes of £2000 each were presented at the EAEPE conference in Porto in Portugal on Saturday 3 November 2007.

Winners of Category 1

For candidates born on or after 1 January 1973, or currently enrolled PhD students, or candidates who were awarded their PhD on or after 1 January 2003.

  • Olivier Brette, ‘Expanding the Dialogue Between Institutional Economics and Contemporary Evolutionary Economics: Veblen’s Methodology as a Framework’, Journal of Economic Issues, 40(2), June 2006, pp. 493-500.

This published journal article addresses the question of possible links between various traditions of institutional economics, neo-Schumpeterian evolutionary economics and the regulation school. In a highly creative move, Brette uses Veblen’s methodological framework to consider points of both dialogue and possible fusion.

  • Zdravka K. Todorova, Reconsidering the Role of Households in Economic Theory, PhD Thesis, University of Missouri – Kansas City, 2007.

This ambitious PhD thesis considers the role of households within a micro-macro framework developed from a Post Keynesian and chartalist monetary theory of production. The work adds a further, Veblenian dimension by addressing the roles of gender and production in a pecuniary culture. It is a highly skilful and creative synthesis.

Winners of Category 2

For candidates who did not qualify for Category 1.

  • Avner Greif, Institutions and the Path to the Modern Economy: Lessons from Medieval Trade (Cambridge and New York: Cambridge University Press, 2006).

Greif’s book focuses on the evolution of the basic economic institutions of property and contract enforcement from medieval times. Using a combination of economic theory and rich empirical material, Greif develops an original and powerful explanation of the development of these institutions, which respects both cultural and historical specificities.

  • Arild Vatn, Institutions and the Environment (Edward Elgar: Cheltenham UK and Northampton MA USA, 2005).

Vatn’s book addresses the urgent question of environmental policy and shows that an understanding of the role of institutions is vital in this area. It incorporates insights on institutions from both mainstream and heterodox traditions of thought. Magisterial and comprehensive, it is both a textbook and an inspiring, pioneering monograph.


The 1994 Appeal for Books for

Universities in Central and Eastern Europe


In 1994 FEED announced its appeal for donations for the purchase of books and journals in institutional and evolutionary economics for universities in Central and Eastern Europe. This appeal was advertised in the US-based Journal of Economic Issues and the EAEPE Newsletter. Monetary donations for this appeal exceeded £1000 within a year, and there was a large donation of books from Edward Elgar Publishing. By the end of 1999, books to the estimated value of well over £8,000 had been donated and dispatched to university libraries in Central and Eastern Europe.


The 1992 Plea for a Pluralistic and Rigorous Economics

– Another initiative funded by FEED

The following ‘plea’ was drafted and circulated among prominent members of the economics profession by Geoff Hodgson, Uskali Mäki, and Deirdre McCloskey. It was signed by 44 leading economists – including four Nobel Laureates – and published as an advertisement (paid for by FEED) in the May 1992 edition of the American Economic Review.

‘We the undersigned are concerned with the threat to economic science posed by intellectual monopoly. Economists today enforce a monopoly of method or core assumptions, often defended on no better ground than it constitutes the “mainstream.” Economists will advocate free competition, but will not practice it in the marketplace of ideas.’

‘Consequently, we call for a new spirit of pluralism in economics, involving critical conversation and tolerant communication between different approaches. Such pluralism should not undermine the standards of rigor; an economics that requires itself to face all the arguments will be a more, not a less, rigorous science.’

‘We believe that the new pluralism should be reflected in the character of scientific debate, in the range of contributions in its journals, and in the training and hiring of economists.’

The above text was signed by the following leading economists: 

Abramovitz, Moses+

Arthur, W. Brian

Axelrod, Robert

Blaug, Mark+

Boulding, Kenneth+

Cowling, Keith

Cyert, Richard M.+

Day, Richard H.

Davidson, Paul

Deane, Phyllis+

Denison, Edward+

Desai, Meghnad

Freeman, Christopher+

Frey, Bruno

Furubotn, Eirik

Galbraith, John Kenneth+

Georgescu-Roegen, N.+

Goodwin, Richard+

Granger, Clive W. J.*+

Grandmont, Jean-Michel

Harcourt, Geoffrey

Heilbroner, Robert+

Hirschman, Albert+

Kindleberger, Charles+

Kornai, Janos

Laidler, David

Leibenstein, Harvey+

Matthews, Robin C. O.

Mayer, Thomas

Minsky, Hyman+

Modigliani, Franco*+

Nelson, Richard

Olson, Mancur+

Pasinetti, Luigi

Perlman, Mark+

Rothschild, Kurt

Samuelson, Paul*+

Shubik, Martin

Simon, Herbert*+

Spanos, Aris

Tinbergen, Jan*+

Tsuru, Shigeto+

Vickers, Douglas

Weintraub, Roy

* Nobel Laureate     + Since deceased